Meyers Memorial Scholarship

Meyers scholarship brochureThis is an annual scholarship for college-bound high school seniors and college enrolled students with a declared major in environmental sciences or environmental education. Each year, one student is selected to receive the $1,000.00 scholarship. The individual must reside in an OALPRP member community. (Note: Residency is determined by the applicant’s home address, not the school address.) Applications for the 2017 scholarship will be due by April 17, 2017. The recipient of the scholarship will be announced in June. 

View the OALPRP membership to make sure that your home residence is represented by an OALPRP member.

C.R. Meyers was a long-time Ashland County Commissioner who served on the Ohio Department of Natural Resources Division of Recycling and Litter Prevention advisory board.  Mr. Meyers was a strong supporter of OALPRP’s mission, and he was an advocate of litter prevention, recycling and professionals who promote those programs.  The scholarship was named as a token of the organization’s appreciation for all his contributions, counsel, and support.

To apply for the C.R. Meyers Memorial Scholarship, download application form.  Email or mail all requirements to the scholarship chair.  A complete application includes an application form, letter of recommendation from your guidance counselor or academic advisor that includes your current GPA, resume of your school and community involvement, and a one-page essay of approximately 500 words, describing your attitude toward litter prevention, recycling, and environmental stewardship.

If you have any questions or would like to check if your application is complete, please contact:

          Steve Schlather
          Clark County Solid Waste District
          1602 W. Main St.
          Springfield, Ohio 45504

Promote C.R. Meyers Scholarship

Members can use the sample school letter and media press release to promote the scholarship within their communities. 

Past Recipients

We got in touch with several past Meyers Scholarship recipients going back as far as 2002 to see what they have been doing. Read all about it at this link.

2016: Ryan Cook of Union County, planning to major in environmental engineering at the University of Cincinnati

2015: Charlotte Shade of Montgomery County, major in biology with a minor in sustainability, energy, and the environment at University of Dayton

2014: Madelyn Moss of Knox County, planning to major in Environmental and Conservation Science at Muskingum College

2013: Nick Brumfield of Fairfield County, planning to major in renewable energy engineering at Ohio State University

2012: Grace Poling of Hardin County, Environmental Science major
at Ohio State University

2011: Kaley Core of Allen County, Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering major at Ohio State University

2010:  Brooke Roman of Stark County, Environmental Science major at Ohio State University

2009:  Mikey Irwin of Ashland County, Civil and Environmental Engineering major at Ohio State University

2008: Donald Davis of Summit County, Certificate of Environmental Studies at University of Akron

Ewalt Enrichment Scholarship

Ewalt Scholarship brochureDella Ewalt exemplified what it meant to be a friend, colleague and leader. Della was always the first to volunteer. She helped OALPRP with training, by-laws and board development, and she was a diligent secretary for the organization. Della worked tirelessly for her local program. It won numerous awards and recognitions at all levels.

Personally, Della loved the arts and traveling. She was always involved in some local theatre production. Even her education programs were filled with puppets, skits and songs. Della's travels were inspiring to all. She   traveled to many countries, learning about their cultures while sharing our culture. Della Ewalt touched so many lives, both at home and around the world.

It is because of Della's love of learning and life of adventure that OALPRP has instituted the Della Ewalt Enrichment Scholarship fund.

A scholarship may be awarded to OALPRP member in good standing for:

  • Attend Conferences: OALPRP, KAB, SECO, EECO, state offered or other associated trainings
  • Pursue Higher Education: undergraduate or graduate course expenses
  • Travel for Exploration: associated travel to environmental place of interest and/or promoting cultural understanding
  • Local Program Enhancement: supplement a local litter prevention and recycling program
  • Leadership Training: attend programs designed for professional development and/or leadership  training provided by a local chamber of commerce or other appropriate entity

Requests are not to exceed $500.00 per applicant member organization.  Applications are voted on by scholarship committee as they are received and the applicant will receive a response within two months of being received.  More than one scholarship may be awarded in a year. 

Apply for the Della Ewalt Enrichment Scholarship

Fill out application form and send to Scholarship Chair.   Membership dues must be paid in full to be an OALPRP member in “good standing”.

If you have any questions, you may contact the following individual:

          Steve Schlather
          Clark County Solid Waste District
          1602 W. Main St.
          Springfield, Ohio 45504

Past Recipients

2014:  Steve Schlather, Clark County; John Schwartz, Huron County

2012:  Jennifer Calvert, Wyandot County

2011:  Lisa Beursken, Erie County

2010:  Cindy Bach, Miami County, Lisa Beursken, Erie County, Katrina Carpenter, Perry County

2009:  Amanda Gamby and Erica Bruielly, Wood County